3Likes
  • 1 Post By Underworld
  • 1 Post By Dr_Z
  • 1 Post By Stinger51

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 05-14-2019, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Bike feels tippy - suggestions?

I'm fairly new to riding (maybe 30 hours on intermediate and some advanced terrain), but my Outlander feels a bit tippy on steep sideways slants. I've got the 570 Outlander Max DPS.
Other people I'm riding with don't seem too concerned with going over the same obstacles and roots.

I've reduced the shocks pre-load to 1 notch above the loosest. That seemed to help a bit. I'm also running 5psi on Carlisle ACT's. 26 x 12 x 8 in the front and 26 x 12 x 10 in the rear.
Other things I can think of are:

+ Get wider tires to make the bike wider
+ Get wheels with negative offset to make the bike wider
+ Remove sway bar
+ Elka Suspension - but holding off for that as it is $$$

Any other ideas or suggestions?
What sort of wheels can people recommend? I'd like to stick to a 12 inch wheel and 26 inch tire.
If i should do wheels - what kind of offset?
Is this a common issue?

Looking for advice

Last edited by Underworld; 05-15-2019 at 07:07 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-15-2019, 12:03 AM

Garage
I noticed the same thing on my outlander too and I assume it's because of the stiff rear sway bar. The front will be fine going over uneven terrain but as soon as the rear tires hit the articulation just is not there and it bucks you to the side. Unfortunately if you disconnect the sway bar high speed cornering will be really tippy but for slow, rough, and off camber terrain I'm sure it would help to disconnect it. Personally I just deal with it like I would a snowmobile and just lean hard.

2015 Outlander XT 650
post #3 of 9 Old 05-15-2019, 10:58 AM

The easiest and most cost effective solution would be to add a set of 1" (so, 2" total) wheel spacers to your machine and see if that does the trick.