Can-Am ATV Forum banner

2013 Can-am 650 xmr. Winch questions

2856 Views 42 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  Iamcanadian
Hello everyone, So I'm new to all of this, and I would like to get some help.
So I bought that machine back in 2021 second hand(4th hand more likely) and it didn't came with a winch, now that I have some spare money I'm trying to get a Can-am 3500HD winch for my rig, But I don't know what else should I get, like do I need a winch mounting plate, or what else comes with that winch in the box.

P.S: Sorry for my English, it's pretty rusty.
1 - 20 of 43 Posts
Hello everyone, So I'm new to all of this, and I would like to get some help.
So I bought that machine back in 2021 second hand(4th hand more likely) and it didn't came with a winch, now that I have some spare money I'm trying to get a Can-am 3500HD winch for my rig, But I don't know what else should I get, like do I need a winch mounting plate, or what else comes with that winch in the box.

P.S: Sorry for my English, it's pretty rusty.
Just need the winch and a fairlead if there is not one on your machine now.
Welcome aboard. Hope that you have fun here among us.
Your English is fine.

If your machine has never had a winch then you will need the full winch kit that includes wires, relay, switch, fairlead, and winch of course.
Check the bolt pattern of any winch you look at to make sure it will mount directly in place on your machine where BRP has planned it. Also check the bolt pattern for the fairlead.
Chances are a 2500 lb winch would be fit well on your machine. The HD2500 winch that BRP installed on my Outlander has proven adequate for the two years it has been used. If you go bigger make sure the bolt patterns fit.
Please keep us posted on your progress.