Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have read through all the "Outlander knock" discussions on this forum but haven't seen a discussion that matched my problem..
I recently bought a brand new XMR 1000 and have put about 7 hours on it so far. Being still in the break-in period, I haven't been abusing it at all. At 6 hours, I noticed when the motor gets up to a normal operating temperature it has a light knock that is noticeable at idle. It is coming from the right hand side of the motor and sounds like a rod knock.. Is this just part of the "normal noises" or is it something I should be concerned about? I can hear the valves clicking so I know that isn't the noise I am hearing. Could it be a rod knocking this early? Or is it something that will go away after I get a few more hours on it?
I have a lot of experience with aircraft Rotax engines but this is the first new can-am I have bought so I am unfamiliar with what I should expect. I am hoping someone here has some experience with this and can help me out!

·
Registered
68 Posts
I have a 2020 1000 with about 15 hours on it. I never came across a knock per se, but I have noticed a very light tap at idle from the upper part of the engine. My guess is it's just valves and I will have to check out their clearances. A KNOCK is something different.
Now that you know it's there...can you hear it when the engine is cold (and then gets louder as the engine warms up)? Does the knock get louder if you crack the throttle open or blip it in N or P? Can you aggravate it at all?
Since your approaching 10 hours anyway... My quick experiments would be to add some Lucas oil stabilizer or "motor honey" and see if it goes away or at least quiets down... If there's a change, then oil viscosity is definitely a factor, and there's something out of tolerance.