Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Arch T. Colwell Merit Award for Development process of a compact intake 2-stroke direct injection engine

Detroit, Michigan, April 8, 2014 – Two of BRP’s Evinrude engineers, Paul Westhoff and Justin Johnson, received the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award during the 2014 annual Society of Automotive engineers (SAE) World Congress & Exhibition in Detroit today for their contributions to furthering mobility engineering.

Westhoff and Johnson’s research, “Development of a Compact Intake Porting Design for a 2-Stroke Direct Injection Outboard Engine” was published in the SAE International Journal of Engines in 2012 and is now honored as one of the top papers presented during the calendar year.

“Our challenge was to design an intake porting specifically for a 3.4 liter V6 2-stroke direct injection outboard engine that meets the EPA’s 3-star Not-to-Exceed (NTE) emissions regulations while increasing power by a minimum of 10 percent and increasing fuel economy by at least 10 percent over production baseline,” said Paul Westhoff, Engineer Expert, Simulation. "We made extensive use of Computational Fluid Dynamic simulation software to predict the interaction between the in-cylinder airflow and injected fuel spray, allowing us to optimize engine performance."

“I’m very proud of this outstanding achievement by our engineers,” said Alain Villemure, vice-president and general manager of BRP’s Marine Propulsion Systems division. “BRP’s legacy is technological innovation and that isn’t just in our final product, but in our thinking every step of the way.”

This is the second time BRP’s Evinrude team has earned a Colwell award. The first award recognized work on the E-TEC engine technology in 2004. The Evinrude paper was one of more than 2,900 papers in the 2012 presentation year to be considered for the award.

The Arch T. Colwell Award recognizes the authors of papers of outstanding technical or professional merit presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections during the calendar year. Colwell, who funded this award,
1 - 1 of 1 Posts