Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this and I have been watching and reading these forums for about 2 months. I have boiled down the machine that I am going to buy and need a little advice on what extra's that I will be needing..
This machine will be used mostly for working in the woods, in and out of my ravines. The terrain is rough and quite a few hills.
Should I upgrade to the Maxxi tires? Do I need to upgrade the winch?
I will be putting the skid plates and arm plates on it.
I need good lighting and I also need to attach a strong spotlight with a red filter for the coyotes (overrun with the varmints).
Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!!
Thank You,
Craig

·
Registered
793 Posts
Welcome aboard! I don't know anything about the new Polaris, but i am sure someone will come along.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank You, I believe that if you have a question about something -- ask people who live and breath their toys. Although mine is going to be more of a working machine than a play ATV.
I sincerely hope it will hold up to what I'm going to put it through!!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank's this looks like a great websight to compare, and the lights that you have suggested would work great. I can do up a spotlight with any type of bracket.
Craig

·
Premium Member
289 Posts
the stock tires are junk on the 850XP, go with the maxxis bighorn unless you are in deep mud all the time. i am putting on my warn RT30 this weekend. i think a 3000 pound winch is about right for it. if you go with the stock wheels then you will need spacers or mod the sway bar for most tires. my bighorns will be at my house today,ups.

·
Registered
752 Posts
I am new to this and I have been watching and reading these forums for about 2 months. I have boiled down the machine that I am going to buy and need a little advice on what extra's that I will be needing..