Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Brief overview, last fall I bought my first Can-Am, 2007 650xt. I thought it needed a valve adjust as it was ticking, no biggy right. Took it on 2 trail rides till hunting season came. While pulling a deer out of the woods my LOW OIL light came on and went into limp mode. Shut quad off for a few and made it back to the house (quarter mile). Parked it till now. Put a oil pressure gauge on and barely came up the hose. After doing research and finding this forum I figured it was the screen or oil pump problem.

With only now 1000 miles on the quad and compression test of around 180 I really did not want to split the case if I didn't need to. Here is what I did in detail.

Got me a manual for a 650xt (download). Watched splitting the case video's on youtube which was real helpful beings I am new to can-am. Followed steps in the manual on pulling the engine. The hardest part of preparing the engine was figuring out how to unplug all the connectors, geeze. Made a lifting chain for the holes between the cylinders and got the engine out. Don't forget to drain your oil in engine and tranny. Here is the first "split the case video". There are 3 parts..

Place engine on bench. Three nuts on the tranny and it pulls off.

The "through shaft" is the shaft going down the center of the engine that connects the front and rear differentials (large spline to the rear). Remove bolts, pry off collar on one side and either pry off second side or tap on the shaft with plastic hammer (opposite end) and drive it out. Shaft pulls right out.

I would pull both covers off each side of the motor for inspection and cleaning. I found plastic shavings in there also.

I would pull valve covers and check chains and guides.