Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
686 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been having an intermittent problem with shifting into gear and the bike creeping while in gear. It first occurred about a week after I bought the bike (6 weeks ago) but increased in frequency and got to the point it smoked the belt on me the other day. So in doing a little research I came to the conclusion it was likely in my one way bearing so I ordered a pair of RBL bearings and some Isoflex grease and tore into it when the parts came in the mail this morning. As I removed the clutch the bearing stayed with the clutch rather than staying on the shaft. I studied up on this in the manual before hand so I knew about the caps and springs and was very mindful of them when pulling everything apart and I can say for 100 percent certainty there are no caps and springs in the shaft. What are the purpose of them?
Why wouldn't they be in there? The collar that the bearings sit in appear to be stuck to the clutch, I tried to seperate but it did not want to go with a little persuasion so I left it to soak with a little penetrating fluid for the time being. Upon inspection of the bearings, the outermost bearing spins freely but the in board bearing is froze solid so I believe that contributed to part or all of my problem, but what has me confused is why I don't have these little caps and springs. Any insight is greatly appreciated, I have a big ride coming up on Friday and would really hate to miss out

Attachments

·
Registered
4,001 Posts
Did you buy it used, or did you find a new left over 2012? If it is used, I would say the previous owner has had the clutches off and lost them, probably didn't know they were there.

·
Registered
686 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)