Can-Am ATV Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the first things that I wanted to get when I got my Outlander XT 650 was a rear seat/luggage set-up for the times that my wife occasionally rides on the back as a passenger. Naturally I checked out the Can Am accessories catalog, because I wanted something that was compatible with their LinQ system so that I could quickly and easily install and remove it as needed.

Of course, I quickly realized that Can Am does not sell rear seats for standard wheelbase Outlanders (safety first!). After making the decision to go to the aftermarket to find a seat, I realized I still wanted a quick install and removal system. I checked the aftermarket for something that would work with the LinQ system and the only thing I found was something from Quadboss, but It wasn’t ideal.

Fortunately, I’m a mechanical engineer and have access to 3D design, a 3D printer, and my dad is an expert machinist. I designed what I would call LinQ-nuts and can be securely installed into any of the “tilted hexagons” on a LinQ rack and then you can mount any accessories that you want without U-bolts or drilling into your rack.

I ended up ordering a universal fit Camco Rear Storage Box and Lounger from Amazon and my wife hated it, so it was promptly returned (thank goodness for free returns on Amazon). She requested just using some handles, so she could get a better grip when riding as a passenger. My dad and I custom fabbed some handles that are compatible with the LinQ-nuts and she loves them. I also used the LinQ-nuts to mount my Rotopax 2-gallon gas can/storage box to the front rack.

So far, these things work great. If there is a decent amount of interest on here, I may be convinced to do a limited production run.

The pictures below show my rapid prototypes, how they look on the rack without an accessory mounted, the grab handles installed with LinQ-nuts, and the Rotopax installed with LinQ-nuts.