Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the Can-Am market, had two Honda ATV’s and thinking about getting into a Defender HD8 XT.
Can anyone explain what the differences are between the DPS and XT? Seems to be around a $2k price difference.
Is the XT worth it?
Any insights regarding the HD8 would be really helpful too. I’ll be using it primarily for hunting and exploring trails. Most of my riding is between 5-25mph.

·
Registered
4 Posts
If I remover correctly, and was told correctly lol
I’m new also lol
But DPS is power steering and XT is wheels, winch and something else.
EDIT: something else is the roof
2nd EDIT: also the XT comes with another bumper

·
Registered
131 Posts
I have the DPS, added a windshield, winch, gun boots, rear view mirror, 3 mode switch, it's ready for the second year of hunting.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have the DPS, added a windshield, winch, gun boots, rear view mirror, 3 mode switch, it's ready for the second year of hunting.
HD8 have plenty of power? Where I hunt has lots of elevation change. Don’t really care about going 60mph down the road, but don’t want to feel like I’m lacking in powering going up hills either.

·
Registered
131 Posts
I use it in the Sierra Nevada's on trail and Forest Service Roads 2-3 riders gear and usually something dead in the back. It has gotten me everywhere I wanted to go and back.

·
Registered
429 Posts
No they do not come with arched arms. Only the lone star edition and xmrs have arched arms

·
Registered
131 Posts
How did you add the 3 mode switch? Is that accessory or parts bought off an XT?
The unit was wired for it and all you need is to purchase the 3 way switch, locate the harness and plug it in. Took all of 15 minutes to install.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Is that for DPS models too or only XT??