Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright so I got my 2021 XMR 850 and I want to get a new exhaust. I did my research on tuners with the exhaust but now I'm hearing getting my bike dyno. Anyone know the difference? Should I get them both? Or just one? Newbie here with tuners and dynos. And tell me what you did to yours!

·
Registered
2,356 Posts
The days of carb tuning by "reading plugs" are over and done .
Without O2 sensors & a few "pulls" , preset maps are like throwing darts .
This is , of course , just my opinion .

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The days of carb tuning by "reading plugs" are over and done .
Without O2 sensors & a few "pulls" , preset maps are like throwing darts .
This is , of course , just my opinion .
So from the sounds of it Can am just decided to not allow their bikes to be reprogrammed?

·
Registered
2,356 Posts
Oh , no . You can alter the maps until the cows come home but without anything providing proof of a positive or negative result I just see no point in it .
Others "tune" their bikes upon the assumption they are lean from the bench . Without proof , I'm sceptical.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Oh , no . You can alter the maps until the cows come home but without anything providing proof of a positive or negative result I just see no point in it .
Others "tune" their bikes upon the assumption they are lean from the bench . Without proof , I'm sceptical.
Hmm, okay that's odd. I have a buddy who tuned his own renegade 1000 because the clutch, exhaust +tuner did not provide what he wanted. Might as well stick to mechanical upgrades and go for a clutch at this point. But thanks for the tip.

·
Registered
2015 Outlander XMR 650
4,097 Posts
It's not a real quick/easy process to try and share with you, you'd do yourself better by reading and searching and figuring out what exactly is going on, on a dyno, to make the call whether or not you want/need it.