Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, My name Jimmy Griffin from southeast Ga and I just bought a 2006 650 outlander4x4 for my son and im looking for info on the goods and bads of this thing, Im a certified Outboard mechanic of 25 years, so i have diagnostic tools and eqipment to service and repair it, but finding a service manual seems to be more challenging than i first thought. i found the outlander 650 in 2007 but not in 06. any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
245 Posts
Hi, My name Jimmy Griffin from southeast Ga and I just bought a 2006 650 outlander4x4 for my son and im looking for info on the goods and bads of this thing, Im a certified Outboard mechanic of 25 years, so i have diagnostic tools and eqipment to service and repair it, but finding a service manual seems to be more challenging than i first thought. i found the outlander 650 in 2007 but not in 06. any help would be greatly appreciated.
07 and 06 should be the same.

Common issues:

Timing chain guides being bad.

OEM brake pads wear quickly, replace them with Race Driven pads.

Valve covers leaking due to plastic valve covers warping when it over heats.

Obvious things to check are rear, front, center diff oil and seals.

Check the ball joints and wheel bearings for slop.

Check the frame under the seat for rust or cracking (luckily mine didn't have this issue)

The earlier G1 bikes are more prone to over heating compared to later G1s. So if you plan to mud save yourself some time and relocate the radiator.

Over all though, I have an 08 and it gets abused regularly and has been bullet proof (after fixing, OR making sure all of the above was in working order).

·
Registered
245 Posts
And one more thing, there is a plastic bolt in the center of your magneto cover. Mine was loose when I bought it from the prior owner. Found that out the hard way.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts