Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a 2019 Defender HD10. The machine is making a rumbling sound when you decelerate. It sounds like it is coming from the drivers side rear somewhere behind the cab. Any ideas?
Checked the gear box, level is good. Checked the belt, seemed ok.
We recently put new tires on the rear but left the old front ones on it because they are still in decent shape.
Needing some ideas on where to even start.

·
Registered
24 Posts
How many miles? I just put an EPI Clutch kit in mine and it's way less noise and smoother. I was at 2800Mi but run it hard, Tracks and Plowing.
Have a close look at the Helix roller cam if the edges are worn it needs to go. It's about a 2 hour job mostly cleaning and checking everything.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What are the chances of it being a CV joint? is there a easy way to check them? I am a decently handy mechanic, with the assistance of You Tube, just not real familiar with Can Am. This is our first one.
The machine has 9000 miles on it. mostly pasture driving. It is used on a ranch for hauling salt and mineral and fencing tools.

·
Registered
2015 Outlander XMR 650
4,568 Posts
I can't speak in specifics of your machine, Darby, but it sounds like you could diagnose this yourself, with a little "hands-on" approach to the "usual suspects":

Jack the machine up, rear, specifically, and start putting your hands on all the rotating drivetrain components. Shake 'em like they owe you money. I'm thinking you've got a rear driveshaft u-joint going out. Your CV joints will typically survive as long as the boots aren't torn. If you see a circle of grease slung out of a boot, then sure yeah that joint has a good chance of failing, but if they're clean you're probably in the clear for those. Check the rear diff mounting bolts, make sure they're gudntite.