Can-Am ATV Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my 1st Can Am last year, a Outlander 4x4. I didn't get to ride much, as I messed up my back and was off work for a while. I have a total of 26 miles on it and 12 1/2 hours on it. I went to take to my dad's house for him to use for snow plowing. I noticed a large oil leak and also the Park/neutral indicator wasn't working, so I called for an appointment. The guy at my dealer told me none needed, just to drop off anytime. Well, needless to say, it's been there for 2 weeks now, and not one call from my dealer. I have called 3 times, and each time, it's either not been looked at, or the last time, which was a week ago wed, they told me a seal was ordered. That was a week ago, and still not heard a thing from them. Is it common for repairs to take 2-3 weeks or longer?? I work as an auto technician, and for me to put up with this, has gotten me really upset. Any suggestions on what I should do? :sad:

·
Premium Member
6,599 Posts
Try another dealer...is it a Platinum dealer you took it to?

·
Premium Member
18,462 Posts
Yeah that sucks. Seems a lot of dealers are different with regards to service. I think a week or two is not unreasonable, depends on the problem. Some guys have reported MONTHS of waiting for back order parts. It seems your dealer needs to communicate with you better. Dealers get different ratings based on sales and service performance. The higher rated ones (mine has a Platinum rating, which I hear is really GOOD) sometimes get somewhat faster service from up the ladder. If I have ever had an issue I have talked to my dealer face to face and they have always fixed me up.

·
Premium Member
6,599 Posts
Another problem at this time of year is sleds getting prority over the Atvs. I had a seal go in my motor last spring. Had it back in two days.:smilietwocents:

·
Registered
429 Posts